Skip to main content

Records of the President’s Office

Identifier: PI-021

Scope and Contents

The Records of the Office of the President include reports submitted to and by the presidents, primarily after 1953, as well as materials about each individual president and their inaugurations. Though there are materials related to the Office of the President prior to 1953, documents relating to this period can be found in the collections of the Pratt Family or the Pratt family member who held the position of president.

Reports submitted to the president’s office between 1952 and 1971 should be integrated into the school collections at some point. These were arranged prior to the processing of the entire records of the office of the president.

There are photographs of the Presidents in the Presidents folder of the Photograph Collection (PRZ).


  • 1895-present


Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open to the public. Records of the President's Office are restricted for 25 years after the date of creation while Records of the Board of Trustees are restricted for 50 years after the date of creation.

Conditions Governing Use

For permission to publish, contact the Archivist, Pratt Institute Library.

Biographical / Historical

The President is the chief executive officer of Pratt Institute. From 1887 to 1940 the position was as President of the Board of Trustees. After 1940 the President has been appointed by the Board, but the administrative functions of the office are separate from those of the Board. The list of presidents since the school’s founding are as follows:

Charles Pratt (founder), 1887-1891

Charles Millard Pratt, 1891-1923

Frederic B. Pratt, 1923-1937

Charles Pratt, 1937-1953

Frances H. Horn, 1953-1957

Robert F. Oxnam, 1957-1961

Richard H. Heindel, 1961-1967

William P. Maddox (acting), 1967-1968

James B. Donovan, 1968-1970

Henry Saltzman (acting), 1970-1972

Richardson Pratt, Jr., 1972-1990

Warren Ilchman, 1990-1993

Thomas Schutte, 1993-2017

Frances Bronet, 2018-present


9.70 Linear Feet (29 document boxes and 2 artifact boxes. )

Language of Materials



The Records of the Office of the President include reports submitted to and by the presidents from 1895 to 2015 as well as materials about each individual president and their inaugurations.


The records are arranged in three series, two of which have been further arranged in subseries. The five subseries in series one are further divided into sub-subseries by reporting year. The series and subseries arrangement of the records is as follows:

Series 1: Reports to the President’s Office, 1952-1971

Subseries 1.1: Annual Reports to the President’s Office, 1952-1971

1.1.1: Annual Reports, 1952-1953

1.1.2: Annual Reports, 1953-1954

1.1.3: Annual Reports, 1954-1955

1.1.4: Annual Reports, 1955-1956

1.1.5: Annual Reports, 1956-1957

1.1.6: Annual Reports, 1957-1958

1.1.7: Annual Reports, 1958-1959

1.1.8: Annual Reports, 1959-1960

1.1.9: Annual Reports, 1960-1961

1.1.10: Annual Reports, 1961-1962

1.1.11: Annual Reports, 1963-1964

1.1.12: Annual Reports, 1964-1965

1.1.13: Annual Reports, 1965-1966

1.1.14: Annual Reports, 1966-1967

1.1.15: Annual Reports, 1967-1968

1.1.16: Annual Reports, 1969-1970

1.1.17: Annual Reports, 1970-1971

1.1.18: Comments on Annual Reports, 1957-1968

Subseries 1.2: Organization Reports to the President’s Office, 1953-1954

1.2.1: Organization Reports, 1953-1954

Subseries 1.3: Planning Reports to the President’s Office, 1960-1962

1.3.1: Planning Outlines for 1960-1970

1.3.2: Master Plan Drafts, 1961-1962

1.3.3: Master Plan, 1962

Subseries 1.4: Curricula Concerned in Registration, 1960-1970

1.4.1: Academic Goals for All Schools, 1968

1.4.2: Curricula Concerned in Registration, 1964-1965

Subseries 1.5: Miscellaneous

1.5.1: Program Proposal Summary Statements, 1961

1.5.2: Academic Record System Review, 1970

1.5.3: Costs for Representative Degree Programs, 1970

Series 2: President’s Annual Reports, 1895-circa 2004

Series 3: Presidents, 1940-2018

3.1: Francis H. Horn, 1940-1974

3.2: Robert F. Oxnam, 1957-1962

3.3: Richard H. Heindel, 1961-1980

3.4: William P. Maddox, 1965-1966

3.5: James B. Donovan, 1965-1970

3.6: Henry Saltzman, 1970-1972

3.7: Richardson Pratt Jr., 1972-1989

3.8: Warren Ilchman, 1989-1992

3.9: Thomas Schutte, 1992-2004

3.10: Frances Bronet, 2018-present

Related Materials

Photograph Collection (PRZ)

Harmful Language Statement

If you encounter any pejorative language (i.e. racist, homophobic, transphobic, xenophobic) or content in the finding aids or within the content of the collection, please send an email to with the relevant details. For more information about how the Pratt Institute Libraries are addressing offensive language and content across its catalogs and databases, please see the Libraries' Harmful Language Statement:

Guide to the Records of the President’s Office
Ian Post
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Pratt Institute Archives Repository

200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn NY 11205 United States